Crusaders of Acre
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Story Time - Thaw

+3
Kondradus_of_Acre
Silicium_of_acre
DeeKay_of_Acre
7 posters

Go down

Story Time - Thaw Empty Story Time - Thaw

Post by DeeKay_of_Acre Sat Oct 22, 2011 10:41 pm

A couple of you might remember this, but for those of you that don't; I am a writer. The short story behind this is that I got bored and remember Rein wanted an introduction piece... So I did one.

...As is traditional with my short story stuff, I haven't reread and edited this yet, and likely never will. It's a good system.

It was a dank morning, the drizzle from the night’s storm still pittered upon the frozen ground and snow-laden trees as the company trotted onwards. Men at arms all, each was clad in plate and chain of tarnished steel, while what once were magnificent tabbards and heraldic banners hung like sodden rags from their bodies. Onwards they plodded, through the slush of winter, their horses hooves occasionally sinking ankle deep into patches of icy wet mud.

It was a miserable pace, dead set against a vicious chilling wind that stole the warmth from their mouths and froze the tears of exertion from determined eyes, freezing their faces in a single expression of duty. These were men with purpose, trudging through the northern wastes in search of some foreign objective or goal long since forgotten.